Throughout history, mankind created his/her own culture of his time based on the cultural heritage carried from his past on his geographical territory. This has also streghtened his power to define his future. However, for this he has to primarly acknowledge the historical – cultural burrowings from his past and should have the consiousness of carrying these cultural values to next generations for his cultural-historical continuity.

Hayri Fehmi Yılmaz
Cultural Awareness Foundation


Metin Kutusu:

European Heritage Awards 2009

Europe's cultural hotspots awarded - awakening the European cultural scene

14 MAY - THE HAGUE - The 7th Annual European Heritage Awards Ceremony will take place in the Teatro Antico of Taormina, Sicily on the 5 June 2009. This unique awards programme aims to highlight some of Europe's cultural and architectural treasures and will showcase remarkable efforts achieved to preserve Europe's rich history in specific projects from over 15 countries across Europe.

The Awards scheme, jointly organised by the European Commission and Europa Nostra, the pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage that represents over 250 NGOs and over 160 other organisations dedicated to heritage active in 45 countries across Europe, will celebrate outstanding initiatives within the European cultural heritage sector and will highlight exceptional restoration and conservation, research and education achievements, as well as dedicated service to heritage conservation.

The aim of the Awards is to promote high standards and high-quality skills in conservation practice and to stimulate trans-border exchanges in the area of heritage. By spreading the "Power of Example", the Awards also aims to encourage further efforts and projects related to heritage protection throughout Europe.

Over the years, the awards programme has seen remarkable examples of cultural preservation of Europe's heritage that represent both some of the most well-known sites in Europe and others that are unique and hidden treasures of the communities in which they reside, such as Trafalgar Square in London (2003 laureate) or the beautiful "Hernergut" bathing Pavilion in Horgen, Switzerland (2005 laureate).

Among the 28 selected winners of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, seven Grand Prize winners will be chosen as the most outstanding examples of heritage protection, which will be announced at the awards ceremony. Each Grand Prize winner will receive a monetary reward of € 10,000. These winners have been selected amongst a group of nearly 140 projects from 24 countries. Presenting the awards will be Mr Jân Figel', the European Commissioner responsible for Education, Training, Culture and Youth, and Her Royal Highness The Infanta Doha Pilar de Borbön, President of Europa Nostra.

Each of the winners will receive a commemorative plaque (seen above) to be placed outside the building to serve as a reminder of the impressive and noteworthy efforts to preserve Europe's built heritage. These medals can be spotted across Europe at previous project winners from the last seven award ceremonies and this year's winners will soon be able to join this prestigious group.

For more information about the awards, the projects, or to receive a limited press pass for the awards and take part in our broader press trip please contact:

Christopher Flores (English), Aspect Consulting +32 2 510 6021 or email [email protected]; Aymeric Leruste (Deutsch and Français), Aspect Consulting +32 2 510 6023 or email [email protected] Fabien Pecot (Espanol), Aspect Consulting +33 1 43 59 29 84 or email [email protected]

Metin Kutusu:  Metin Kutusu:

Notes to editors:
Europa Nostra is dedicated to putting cultural heritage and its benefits in the mainstream of public consciousness and is committed to making heritage a priority for public policies both at European and national levels. Its specific objectives are to promote, at a European level, high standards of quality in the fields of heritage conservation, architecture, urban and rural planning, and to advocate a balanced and sustainable development of urban and rural, built and natural environment.

Categories for the awards range from the restoration of buildings and their adaptation to new uses, to urban and rural landscape rehabilitation, archaeological site interpretations, and care for art collections. Also awarded are prizes for research, for education and awareness-raising projects related to cultural heritage and for dedicated service to heritage conservation by individuals or organisations.

For more information:

Complete list of award recipients

Category 1 — Conservation:

  1. Gozzoburg Medieval building, AUSTRIA
  2. Grotenfelt Family Burial Chapel's wall paintings, FINLAND
  3. Kesalahti Church Bell Tower, FINLAND
  4. Dokumentationsstatte Regierungsbunker, GERMANY
  5. Archaeological Site of Nicopolis, GREECE
  6. Mâtra Museum in Gyöngyös, HUNGARY
  7. The Church of Saints Faustino and Giovita, ITALY
  8. Macro Future and Alternative Economy City, ITALY
  9. Via Latina at Coimbra, PORTUGAL
  10. La Caserıa de los Tomillos, SPAIN
  11. The Church of Santa Marıa La Mayor, SPAIN
  12. Stanley Mills, UNITED KINGDOM
  13. Logie Schoolhouse, UNITED KINGDOM
  14. The Pier Arts Centre, UNITED KINGDOM

• High Level Bridge at Newcastle-Gateshead upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM Category 2 — Research:
  1. Study, Assessment and Design for the Structural and Architectural Restoration of the Bedestan, CYPRUS
  2. Series of five restoration catalogues from 2004 to 2008 of the Olomouc Museum of Art, CZECH REPUBLIC
  3. An Inventory of Historic Gardens and Designed Landscapes in Ireland, IRELAND
  4. Global Climate change impact on built heritage and cultural landscape: the Noah's Ark Project, ITALY

Category 3 — Dedicated service:
  1. Dr. Glenn Murray, SPAIN
  2. Fundaciön de la Comunidad Valenciana La Luz de las Imâgenes, SPAIN
  3. Professor David Walker, OBE, UNITED KINGDOM

Category 4 — Education, training and awareness-raising:
  • Maison du patrimoine medieval mosan, BELGIUM
  • Sustainable Aegean Programme, GREECE
  • A proposed teaching method for reading the landscape: Pontemanco, ITALY
  • Academia Istropolitana Nova, SLOVAKIA
  • "Culture Ants" project, TURKEY
  • Upper Colne Valley dry stone walling project, UNITED KINGDOM